OTDF officiates Ok Tedi Mine villages VPC elections

The Ok Tedi Mine Village Elections were conducted using the “first past the post” election system between the 1st and 30th of March, 2022.

The Village Planning Committee (VPC) chairmen elected for the mine villages are:

Mr. Morris Felok – Finalbin, Mr. Frank Lucas – Kavorabip, Mr. Justin Bilak – Atemkit, Mr. Joshua David – Wangbin, and Mr. Simon Livin – Migalsim, and Clifford Bineng – Bultem

According to Tabubil based OTDF Regional Development Officer Christopher Nicholas, Bultem village did not conduct its VPC elections and was deferred to the 30th of March, 2022.

According to Trust guidelines for VPC elections, the VPC Chairmanship holds a 3-year term, and elections are conducted when the 3 years have been served before the next person can be nominated by the community and elected through a just and fair election process.

The OTDF Regional Development team was responsible for conducting the VPC elections with support from the Star Mountain LLG Electoral team.

OTDF congratulates the elected VPC chairmen.

OTDF Media